The Florida no-fault motor vehicle law requires drivers to have personal injury protection coverage as part of their auto insurance. No matter who is at fault, the insured is covered for expenditures under this no-fault insurance up to the insurer’s maximum ($10,000 minimum limit).
This law helps to reduce the number of tort claims arising from auto accidents. For example, both parties to a collision now have personal injury protection, regardless of who is at fault, to pay personal expenses from the accident rather than immediately suing the other. Also, getting assistance from lawyers like Clearwater personal injury lawyers can help you to educate how to overcome such issues. This blog will explain in details Florida’s no-fault insurance policy.
Understanding About No-Fault Law in Florida
Due to Florida’s “no-fault” rule, both parties to an automobile accident must file claims under their respective auto insurance policies, regardless of who was at fault. To fulfill this rule, all drivers in Florida must obtain personal injury protection insurance (PIP) as part of their auto insurance policy.
The no-fault laws aim to make it easier for people injured in auto accidents to get medical help. There are some limitations, though. For example, PIP insurance only covers up to a certain amount of medical bills. You may decide to sue the other motorist if your injuries are severe enough to reach the “injury threshold” set by legislation or if they are more severe than PIP coverage.
Understanding About Auto Insurance Policy
A personal vehicle policy includes liability insurance, basic health insurance coverage, uninsured motorist insurance, and other benefits. There are three general liability limit categories, i.e., physical injury, physical harm, and property damage per accident. The lowest value in Florida is 10/20/10, which means the insured will be entitled to $10,000 in each person’s bodily injury coverage, approximately $20,000 in each accident spent, and $10,000 in each accident’s property damage coverage.
Per person and accident, medical payment for operating a privately owned car is the primary insurance. When operating a non-privately owned vehicle, they serve as supplemental insurance coverage. Limits of $500, $1,000, $2,000, and $5,000 are typical ranges.
“No-Fault” First Information and Restrictions
It’s crucial to realize that “no-fault” does not bar lawsuits filed against you for injuries suffered in a car accident. Instead, it means that regardless of the charge, every driver must notify the incident to their insurance companies to file a claim in Florida.
PIP doesn’t provide coverage for everything, but it does:
- 80 percent of accident-related injuries’ medical costs are covered.
- 80 percent of prescribed drugs are accidental
- 60% represents lost or diminished revenue
- Travelling to and from any hospital
All drivers in Florida have protected against personal injury damages up to $10,000 thanks to the state’s no-fault insurance regulations. Immediately after the accident, you should speak with a car accident attorney if you need help understanding any of the nuances of this legislation.
Leave a Reply